Relief for the Philippines

With all of the devastation in the Philippines from last week’s typhoon, let us take a moment to reflect on all that we have…

It is so easy to get caught up in day-to-day stressors and forget just how lucky we really are (I am definitely guilty of that.). I was looking at pictures of the devastation and loss of life from the storm and it humbled me greatly. For so many in the Philippines, their whole lives and all they knew were swept away in an instant. The death toll is still unknown, but the destruction is beyond belief.

I cannot help but feel such deep gratitude today for all that I have. It is in these terrible moments that we should stop and reflect on all that is good in our lives. Family, friends, health, homes, jobs… How fortunate we are.

My heart aches for everyone affected by Typhoon Haiyan (also known as Typhoon Yolanda). As of today, the U.N. estimates that 2.5 million people are in need of food. In addition, there are reports that 800,000 people are displaced. The U.S. has offered aid (along with at least 28 other nations) and a number of our warships are en route as we speak to offer assistance. However, even with this help, the people of the Philippines will need more.

If you haven’t done so yet, please consider donating in some way to help bring food, water and medicine to the homeless, hungry and sick. The American Red Cross is just one of many organizations who can help. For others, click on this article from CBS NEWS that lists numerous aid organizations.

american-red-cross

I know that tonight I will be mindful and appreciative as I eat my dinner. I will hug my family a little tighter. I will give thanks for all that I have in my life. And, I will offer thoughts and prayers to those who are suffering from this tragic and most devastating event.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

